Adding new skills in skill.xml

Runes of Magic/Radiant Arcana (http://www.runesofmagic.com)
Post Reply
Message
Author
Romplayer
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:07 am

Adding new skills in skill.xml

#1 Post by Romplayer » Tue May 07, 2013 12:41 am

My champion has some elite skills not in the skills.xml database.
How do I go about adding my skills to the database?
whats the way to find out the ID of the skill?
I have 2 I want to add: Dark energy strike and Rune siphon
Oh and Dark energy punishment.
So 3 total

Oh wait maybe Remodeled body also which is a shield form when about to die restores full HP

Do all I need to do is find the ID and follow the format in skills.xml to add to database?

Whats the easiest way to find the skill ID? can I do it by writing an ingame macro?

kenzu38
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:52 am

Re: Adding new skills in skill.xml

#2 Post by kenzu38 » Tue May 07, 2013 1:05 am

You can go to runesdatabase.com and search for the skill you want to add. And then take note of the url, the number in the URL is usually the skill Id.

For example this is for the elite skill of Champion/Rogue Shadow Pulse. So the skill Id is 498726.

And then you just have to add this line to the Champion Elite skills section of the skills.xml:

Code: Select all

<skill name="CHAMPION_SHADOW_PULSE" id="498726" range="225" cooldown="6" type="damage" target="enemy" />

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adding new skills in skill.xml

#3 Post by rock5 » Tue May 07, 2013 1:24 am

Romplayer wrote:Do all I need to do is find the ID and follow the format in skills.xml to add to database?
Yes, pretty much.
Romplayer wrote:Whats the easiest way to find the skill ID? can I do it by writing an ingame macro?
You can usually look them up on http://www.runesdatabase.com, the Ids are in the address bar, but it's out of date so new skills might not be found there. I like to use the ItemPreview addon. It's an easy way to get the Id of items, quests, skills, buffs, etc. The only thing it can't give Ids for are in world objects such as harvest nodes, npcs and mobs.

For buff Ids we usually use a macro to be sure we get the right Id.

Code: Select all

/script local i=1 while UnitBuff( "player", i) ~= nil do local name, __, __, ID = UnitBuff( "player", i) SendSystemChat(name.." "..ID) i = i + 1 end
This just list all current buffs.
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

chesterfield
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Adding new skills in skill.xml

#4 Post by chesterfield » Sat May 25, 2013 12:15 am

runesdatabase.com <---- it lacks skills

--- Scout / Rogue ---

i can`t find all skills :oops:

sorry my english :( , translate from google :)

User avatar
rock5
Posts: 12173
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:30 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adding new skills in skill.xml

#5 Post by rock5 » Sat May 25, 2013 12:41 am

Yeah I know. It hasn't been updated since 5.0.0 which is disappointing. The only database I can find that is up to date is the rom wiki http://runesofmagic.gamepedia.com but it doesn't provide Ids, so I still wish runesdatabase would update.
  • Please consider making a small donation to me to support my continued contributions to the bot and this forum. Thank you. Donate
  • I check all posts before reading PMs. So if you want a fast reply, don't PM me but post a topic instead. PM me for private or personal topics only.
  • How to: copy and paste in micromacro
    ________________________
    Quote:
    • “They say hard work never hurt anybody, but I figure, why take the chance.”
          • Ronald Reagan

User avatar
lisa
Posts: 8332
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Adding new skills in skill.xml

#6 Post by lisa » Sun May 26, 2013 8:28 am

this is my current version of ID to skill names.
skills.xml
26/5/2013
Not to be confused with skills.xml in database folder, very different
(228.8 KiB) Downloaded 157 times
You can either just open it in notepad++ and then do a search for the name or you can do more complicated stuff.

I keep it in the logs folder

Code: Select all


local ll = include("logs/skills.xml") 
for k,v in pairs(ll) do 
if string.find(v,"Berserk") then 
print(k.." "..v) end 
end

492999 Berserk
497152 Berserk Excuse
499484 Berserk
491305 Berserk
497601 Berserker's Fury
497603 Heavy Berserker Attack
497604 Heavy Berserker Attack
497605 Heavy Berserker Attack
497998 Berserker Elixir
498284 Berserker's Fury
490095 Berserk
490526 Berserk
498778 Berserk
494939 Berserk
492942 Berserk
If you have a different language version than english you can use this userfunction to make your own language file, it takes anywhere from 10 to 30 mins to finish.

Code: Select all

function lisa_logskills()
	filename = getExecutionPath() .. "/logs/skills.xml";
	file, err = io.open(filename, "a+");
	if( not file ) then
		error(err, 0);
	end
	file:write("return {\n")
	for i = 490000,499999,1 do
		local nam = GetIdName(i)
		if nam and nam ~= "" and nam ~= " " then
			file:write(" ["..i.."] = \""..nam.."\",\n")
		end
	end
	file:write("}")
	file:close();
end
That code doesn't deal with any weird characters that might be in the name like ", you'll have to work that out for yourself if you intend to use it as a table.
Remember no matter you do in life to always have a little fun while you are at it ;)

wiki here http://www.solarstrike.net/wiki/index.php?title=Manual

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 136 guests